The Association now known as the Association for Library and Information Science Education (ALISE) was founded as the Association of American Library Schools. The original association grew out of a series of informal meetings of library school faculty at American Library Association conferences which were known as the Round Table of Library School Instructors. The Round Table voted in 1915 to form a permanent organization and to be identified as the Association of American Library Schools. The Association has provided a forum for library educators to share ideas, to discuss issues, and to seek solutions to common problems. In 1983, the Association changed its name to its present form to reflect more accurately the mission, goals, and membership of the Association.

Former Presidents

2022/23 Rong Tang, Simmons University
2021/22 Lisa O'Connor, University of North Carolina Greensboro

2020/21 Sandy Hirsh, San José State University

2019/20 Stephen Bajjaly, Wayne State University
2018/19 Heidi Julien, University at Buffalo

2017/18 Dietmar Wolfram, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
2016/17 Louise Spiteri, Dalhousie University
2015/16 Samantha Hastings, University of South Carolina

2014/15 Clara Chu, University of North Carolina, Greensboro
2013/14 Eileen Abels, Simmons College
2012/13 Melissa Gross, Florida State University
2011/12 Lynne C. Howarth, University of Toronto
2010/11 Lorna Peterson, University at Buffalo, State University of New York
2009/10 Linda Smith, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
2008/09 Michele V. Cloonan, Simmons College
2007/08 Connie Van Fleet, University of Oklahoma
2006/07 John Budd, University of Missouri - Columbia
2005/06 Ken Haycock, San Jose State University
2003/05 Louise S. Robbins, University of Wisconsin-Madison
2002/03 Elizabeth Aversa, University of Tennessee
2001/02 Prudence Dalrymple, Dominican University
2000/01 Jim Matarazzo, Simmons College
1999/00 Shirley Fitzgibbons, Indiana University
1998/99 Shirley Fitzgibbons, Indiana University
1997/98 Toni Carbo, University of Pittsburgh
1996/97 Joan C. Durrance, University of Michigan
1995/96 June Lester, University of Oklahoma
1994/95 Charles Curran, University of South Carolina
1993/94 Timothy W. Sineath, University of Kentucky
1992/93 Adele Fasick, University of Toronto
1991/92 Evelyn Daniel, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
1990/91 Phyllis Van Orden, Florida State University
1989/90 Miles M. Jackson, University of Hawaii at Manoa
1988/89 Leigh Estabrook, University of Illinois
1987/88 Kathleen M. Heim(Kathleen de la Peña McCook), Louisiana State University
1986/87 Ann Prentice, University of Tennessee
1985/86 Norman Horrocks, Dalhousie University
1984/85 Jane B. Robbins, University of Wisconsin-Madison
1983/84 Robert D. Stueart, Simmons College
1982/83 F. William Summers, University of South Carolina
1981/82 Harold Goldstein, Florida State University
1980/81 Charles A. Bunge, University of Wisconsin-Madison
1979/80 Genevieve Casey, Wayne State University
1978/79 Gary R. Purcell, University of Tennessee
1977/78 Margaret K. Goggin, University of Denver
1976/77 Guy Garrison, Drexel University
1975/76 Kenneth E. Vance, University of Michigan
1974/75 Elizabeth W. Stone, Catholic University
1973/74 R. Brian Land, University of Toronto
1972/73 Thomas Slavens, University of Michigan
1971/72 Margaret Monroe, University of Wisconsin-Madison
1970/71 Patricia B. Knapp, Wayne State University
1969/70 Rev. James J. Kortendick, Catholic University
1968/69 Samuel Rothstein, University of British Columbia
1967/68 Virginia Lacy Jones, Atlanta University
1966/67 LeRoy C. Merritt, University of California
1965/66 L. Dorothy Bevis, University of Washington
1964/65 Jesse H. Shera, Case Western Reserve University
1963/64 Wayne Yenawine, Syracuse University
1961/62 Martha Boaz, University of Southern California
1960/61 Edward A. Wight, University of California, Berkeley
1959/60 David K. Berninghausen, University of Minnesota
1958/59 Esther Stallmann, University of Texas
1957/58 Lowell A. Martin, Rutgers University
1956/57 Frances N. Cheney, Peabody University
1955/56 Harold Lancour, University of Illinois
1954/55 Louise LeFevre, Western Michigan University
1953/54 Carl Melinat, Syracuse University
1952/53 C. Irene Hayner, University of Minnesota
1951/52 Rose B. Phelps, University of Illinois
1950/51 Wayne Shirley, Pratt Institute
1949/50 J. Periam Danton, University of California, Berkeley
1948/49 Rudolph H. Gjelness, University of Michigan
1947/48 George C. Allez, University of Wisconsin, Madison
1946/47 Florrinell F. Morton, Louisiana State University
1945/46 Anne M. Boyd, University of Illinois
1944/45 Alice Higgins, New Jersey
1943/44 Frances H. Kelly, Carnegie Institute of Technology
1942/43 Leon Carnovsky, University of Chicago
1941/42 Herman H. Henkle, Simmons College
1940/41 Lucie E. Fay, Columbia
1939/40 Tommie Dora Barker, Emory
1938/39 Louis R. Wilson, Chicago
1937/38 Harriet E. Howe, Denver
1936/37 Ethel M. Fair, New Jersey
1935/36 Ralph Munn, Carnegie Institute of Technology
1934/35 Phineas L. Windsor, Illinois
1933/34 Sydney B. Mitchell, California
1932/33 Arthur E. Bostwick, St. Louis Public
1931/32 Clara E. Howard, Emory
1930/31 Charles C. Williamson, Columbia
1929/30 Charles C. Williamson, Columbia
1928/29 June R. Donnelly, Simmons College
1927/28 Josephine A. Rathbone, Pratt
1926/27 Phineas L. Windsor, Illinois
1925/26 Wlliam E. Henry, Washington
1924/25 Susie Lee Crumley, Carnegie (Atlanta)
1923/24 Harriet P. Sawyer, St. Louis Public
1922/23 Ernest J. Reece, New York Public
1921/22 Phineas L. Windsor, Illinois
1920/21 Josephine A. Rathbone, Pratt
1919/20 Frank K. Walter, New York State
1918/19 Alice S. Tyler, Western Reserve
1917/18 Sarah C. N. Bogle, Carnegie Institute (Pittsburgh)
1916/17 June R. Donnelly, Simmons College
1915/16 James I. Wyer, New York State