ALISE/LMC Paper Award


ALISE/LMC Paper Award: Call for Papers


Library Media Connection (LMC Magazine) and the ALISE Youth Services and School Library Media SIGs (Special Interest Groups) proudly announce the 2015 call for research papers addressing library and information science issues for children and young adults. The ALISE/LMC Paper Award provides $1000 to recognize an outstanding paper reporting innovative research in library services to young people.


Papers are invited on topics related to youth services in public libraries or school library media centers, including, but not limited to:


• resources specially developed for youth

• history of youth services in libraries

• information seeking behavior of youth

• service and program evaluation

• policy research

• technology innovation

• the relationship between libraries and other organizations

• collection development


Papers must include a section on the applicability of the research to practice. Also, papers should not have been previously published.


Authors MUST be personal members of ALISE (Association for Library and Information Science Education) and members of either the ALISE Youth Services SIG or the School Library Media SIG. In cases of joint authorship, one honorarium will be awarded for the paper. Graduate students as well as faculty are eligible to submit papers. Only one paper per entrant may be submitted for the award. Authors may not simultaneously submit the same paper to other ALISE competitions or venues. Currently-serving panel selectors are not eligible.


The winning author is expected to present a summary of the paper during the 2015 ALISE Conference. The paper will be scheduled into one of the ALISE Awards sessions by the conference planning committee. Winning papers subsequently published should acknowledge having received the ALISE/LMC Paper Award.


The author(s) of the winning paper must also agree to produce a version of the paper for publication in Library Media Connection. The decision to publish or not to publish will be at the discretion of the journal’s editor.


Submission Requirements

Papers, including title page, abstract (150 word maximum), and references, must not exceed 25 double-spaced pages, should have one-inch margins, be in 12-point font, and should be paginated in the upper right corner of each page.

The paper should be organized as follows:


• Title page (separate page)

• Abstract

• Text

• References


The name(s) of the author(s) must appear on the title page ONLY. The title should appear both on the title page and at the top of the page on which the abstract appears. Submissions must be received on or before September 22, 2014. Email submissions only.


Submit papers via email attachment (.doc, .pdf, or .rtf files acceptable) to the award co-chairs:


Sue Kimmel, Old Dominion University,


Ellen Pozzi, William Patterson University,


Selection Process

All submissions will be subject to double-blind peer review. Papers will be judged by an awards committee constituted jointly by members of the Youth Services and School Library Media SIGs, selected by the Immediate Past Chairs of both SIGs. Each Immediate Past SIG Chair solicits and appoints 2 committee members from their respective memberships. These 4 then serve as the review panel, work independently, and render the award decision. Immediate Past SIG Chairs cannot serve on the selection panel. The committee reserves the right not to make an award if the submissions are considered to be of insufficient quality.


One Immediate Past Chair will serve as Chair of the process, and that charge alternates (year by year) between SIGs. In the event of co-chairs within a SIG, the co-chairs must decide between them who will take primary responsibility.


Chair of the 2014 Award Committee: Sarah Park Dahlen

Immediate Past Co-Chair of the Youth Services SIG


Chair of the 2013 Award Committee: Anne Perrault

Immediate Past chair of the School Library Media SIG



Previous Winners


Sharon McQueen (Old Dominion University) "A Permanent and
Significant Contribution: The Life of May Hill Arbuthnot



Jeffrey DiScala and Ann Carlson Weeks, (University of Maryland) “ Access Denied: School Librarians’ Responses to School District Policies on the Use of Social Media Tools”
Eric Meyers, (University of British Columbia) “The Group 6: Toward the Development of an Information Problem Solving”

Marianne Martens, (Rutgers University) “The Librarian Lion: Constructing Children’s Literature Through Connections, Capital, and Criticism (1910-1941)”

Honorable Mention: Natasha Isajlovic-Terry, (MLIS) and Lynne McKechnie, (University of Western Ontario) “ ‘I don’t think they should stop you’ (Emily, 9 years): Children’s views of censorship”

2010 No Award Given
2009 Shana Pribesh, (Old Dominion University) and Karen Gavigan, (University of North Carolina at Greensboro) “Equal Opportunity? Poverty and Characteristics of School Library Media Centers”
2008 Kara Anne Reuter, (University of Maryland) “ ’Children Selecting Books in a Library’: Implications for Encouraging Effective Book Selection”