ALISE / Norman Horrocks Leadership Award


This award recognizes a new ALISE member who has demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities in professional ALISE activities. This award addresses a number of concerns relevant to the Association, including:

  • the need to attract new members and retain their membership as a lifelong commitment

  • the need to develop and recognize those new members with outstanding leadership qualities as future leaders of ALISE at the highest levels

  • the need to recognize newer members for service to the organization rather than limiting recognition to academic achievements


What: One annual award of $500 (plus a certificate). The award will not be given in years when there is no qualified and/or worthy applicant.


When: The award is offered annually. The award was first presented at the 2009 ALISE Conference.


Who: This award is open to any ALISE member who has been a member for no more than seven years (including years as a student member, if applicable), at the time the award is given. An individual may only receive this award once.


How: The award is administered by the ALISE/Norman Horrocks Leadership Award Committee. Nominations of eligible applicants should be made directly to the committee chairperson, identified below, by September 22.


Nomination packages must include: a letter of nomination (no more than one page, single-spaced), describing the ways in which the nominee has demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities in professional ALISE activities (e.g., participation in SIG activities; organization of ALISE conference events; service on ALISE committees; recruitment or retention of other new ALISE members; etc.) and noting the date that the nominee first joined ALISE; and, supporting documentation, including the nominee’s current CV and letters of support that address the criteria listed above.


Nominations will be adjudicated by the members of the ALISE/Norman Horrocks Leadership Award Committee. Results of the competition will be announced on or before October 1.

Nominations for the 2015 ALISE/Norman Horrocks Leadership Award should be submitted electronically (as attached PDF, Word or Rich Text files) no later than September 22, 2014 to the committee chairperson:

Renate Chancellor
Catholic University of America
Chair, Norman Horrocks Leadership Award


Norman Horrocks Leadership Award Facebook page

Previous Recipients

2014 - Shari A. Lee

2013 - Nicole Cooke

2012 - Renate Chancellor

2011 - Lauren Mandel

2010 - No Award Given

2009 - Linda Most



-back to conference homepage-