ALISE/Bohdan S. Wynar Research Paper Competition

Previous Winners

The purpose of this award is to further stimulate the communication of research at ALISE Annual Meetings. Research papers concerning any aspect of library and information science are eligible. This competition is not limited to research regarding LIS education. Any research methodology is acceptable. Up to two winning papers may be selected.

The winner(s) of the award will be honored at the ALISE Annual Meeting and will be expected to present a summary of their paper at that meeting. The award does not include an honorarium.

  1. At least one applicant in a group must be a personal member of ALISE as of the deadline date.
  2. Only one research paper will be considered from each entrant; multiple entries by the same author will not be accepted. The same author may submit for both the Research Grant Award and the Research Papers Competition; however, the same work cannot be submitted for both categories.
    Papers must represent completed research not previously published. However, the manuscript may have been submitted and be in process for publication.
  3. Papers, including abstract and references, must not exceed 35 double-spaced pages (approximately 10,000 words), should have one inch margins and be in 12 point font.
  4. Research papers completed in the pursuit of master's and doctoral studies (e.g. theses, seminar papers, and dissertations) are not eligible for entry. Research utilizing data gathered by a master's or doctoral student is eligible unless the research report is taken directly from a paper submitted for degree requirements. Papers which are spin-offs of such research are eligible for entry.
  5. Papers generated as a result of a research grant or other source of funding are eligible for the competition.
  6. Two title pages must be sent. One with, and one without, author names(s) and institution. Both title pages should carry the name of the competition for which the paper is being submitted.


The papers will be judged by the Research Committee with the assistance of additional ALISE members in those cases where the research topic or methodology warrant. All reviewing is blind. Research papers will be judged on the following criteria:

  1. Significance of the research problem.
  2. Presentation of the relevant literature.
  3. Design of the study (i.e., appropriateness of methodology, selection of specific techniques and/or tests).
  4. Conduct of the study (i.e., application of methods of data collection).
  5. Analysis and presentation of the data (i.e., quality of analysis, logic of findings).
  6. Appropriateness of the conclusions.

Papers will be disqualified if they exhibit one or more of the following:

  • Lack of adherence to submission requirements
  • Submission of paper for the wrong award
  • Poor quality in the writing
  • Poor organization of material


Heidi Julien, Buffalo -


Kristen Rebmann, San Jose (2017) 
Joanna Sin, Nanyang (2016)

Board liaison:

Clara Chu

 Previous Winners

2014 Virgil E. Varvel, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and Yi Shen, John Hopkins University, for "Data Management: Consulting at the John Hopkins University"
2013 Marie Radford, Rutgers University, and Lynn Connaway, OCLC, for “Not dead yet! A longitudinal study of query type and ready reference accuracy in live chat and IM reference”

Joseph Tennis, University of Washington,
for “The strange case of eugenics: A subject’s ontogeny in a long-lived classification scheme and the question of collocative integrity”
2012 Jessica F. Lingel, Rutgers University, for "Improvision, Tactics, and Wandering: Urban Information Practices of Migrational Individuals"    
2011 Catherine A. Johnson, University of Western Ontario, for "I'm like librarian bartender sometimes: How Informal Interactions Between Library Staff and Patrons Help to Create Social Capital"
2010 No Award Given
2009 Yin Zhang and Athena SalabaKent State University, for "What is Next for FRBR? A Delphi Study"
2008 Rong Tang, Simmons College, and Martin A. Safer, Catholic University of America, for "Author-Rated Importance of Cited References in Biology and Psychology Publications"
2007 Charles Hildreth and Selena Aytac, Long Island University, for “Recent Library Practitioner Research: A Methodological Analysis and Critique”
2006 No Award Given
2005 Lokman Meho, Indiana University, and Kristina Spurgin, University of North Carolina, for "Ranking the Research Productivity of LIS Faculty and Schools: An Evaluation of Data Sources and Research Methods ."
2004 No Award Given
2003 No Award Given
2002 No Award Given
2001 George D'Elia, Corinne Jorgensen, and Joseph Woelfel, School of Information Studies, University at Buffalo, SUNY, and Eleanor Jo Rodger, Urban Libraries Council, for "The Impacts of the Internet on Public Library Use: An Analysis of the Current Consumer Market for Library and Internet Services."
2000 Allyson Carlyle, University of Washington, for "Developing Organized Information Displays for Complex Works: A Study of User Clustering Behavior."
1999 Caroline Haythornthwaite, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, for "Network Structures among Computer-Supported Distance Learners: Multiple Relations, Multiple Media, and Time."
1998 Louise S. Robbins, University of Wisconsin-Madison
1997 Ingrid Hsieh-Yee, Catholic University of America