ALISE Award for Professional Contribution to Library and Information Science Education

Previous Recipients

Winners will receive one complimentary registration to the ALISE Annual Conference.


Heather Moorefield Lang, South Carolina -


Elisabeth Jones, Washington 
Ajit Pyati, Western  
Natasha Zwarich, Montreal 

Board liaison:

Cecilia Salvatore, Dominican, Director of Membership Services -

Award Criteria

  • Evidence of regular and sustained service that promotes and strengthens the broad areas of library/information science education through the holding of appropriate offices and positions within the profession (30 points)
  • Contributions which promote and enhance the status of library/information science education (30 points)
  • Evidence of leadership and initiative in dealing with issues related to library/information science education (40 points)

Nominations Requirements

  • A Nomination Letter (electronically or in hard copy) describing the ways in which the nominee fulfills the criteria as advertised
  • Appropriate Supporting Documentation, e.g., letters of recommendation and/or names of references which address the criteria listed above and provide such evidence, a resume of the nominee or a description of his/her appropriate activities and contributions
  • The Committee may solicit more information, if necessary

Award Submission Instructions
Access the submission form here. After you create a login, click on Award Submission/Nomination at the bottom of the page. In the submission form, please be sure you enter the name(s) of the individual being nominated. List one nominee per line. If there is more than one nominee, use the Org. Index box on the right side to indicate institutional names. The number in the Org. Index box must correspond to the number below it. Prior to uploading documents, be sure to refer to your award’s requirements.

Previous Recipients

2017 - John Budd

2016 - Clara Chu

2015 - Anne Gilliland

2014 - Ling Hwey Jeng

2013 - Ann Prentice

2012 - Eileen G. Abels

2010 - Ken Haycock

2009 - Michael Eisenberg 

2008 - Catherine Sheldrick Ross
           Linda Smith

2007 - Brooke E. Sheldon

2006 - no award

2005 - Marcia J. Bates, Joan C. Durrance

2004 - Carol Collier Kuhlthau

2003 - Leigh Stewart Estabrook

2002 - Toni Carbo

2001 - Jane Robbins

2000 - Thomas D. Wilson

1999 - Marilyn L. Miller

1998 - Edward G. Holley

1997 - Charles Bunge

1996 - Norman Horrocks

1995 - Margaret Stieg

1994 - no award

1993 - Thomas J. Galvin

1992 - Lester Asheim

1991 - Herman Totten

1990 - no award

1989 - Robert M. Hayes

1988 - Samuel Rothstein

1987 - Martha Boaz
Margaret Monroe