The ALISE Award for Teaching Excellence in the Field of Library and Information Science Education


Teaching Excellence Award Ballot (PDF)
Previous Winners


Winners will receive one complimentary registration to the ALISE annual conference


CRITERIA include:

  • Evidence of regular and sustained excellence in teaching library and information science (40 points)
  • Contributions to curriculum design which demonstrate subject expertise and the ability to integrate new developments in library and information science (20 points)
  • Evidence of mentoring students, alumni, and/or practicing professionals outside the classroom (20 points)
  • Use of effective and innovative teaching methods (20 points)

Nominations should consist of:

  • A Nomination Letter, (electronically or in hard copy) describing the ways in which the nominee fulfills the criteria above, accompanied by
  • Appropriate Supporting Documentation, e.g., letters of support that address the criteria listed above; evidence that demonstrates how the nominee meets that criteria, such as a CV of the nominee or a description of his/her appropriate activities and contributions.


The Committee may solicit more information, if necessary.


Papers must be received no later than July 15, 2014. They should be emailed as an attachment in Word format to:

Linda Gann
University of North Carolina - Greensboro
Chair, The ALISE Award for Teaching Excellence in the Field of Library and Information Science Education



Previous Recipients:

2014 -Renate Chancellor

2013 - Deborah Barreau

2012 - Sandra Hughes -  Hassell

2011 - Denise Agosto

2010 - Ana Cleveland

2009 - Ann Carlson Weeks

2008 - Christine Jenkins

2007 - Betsy Hearne

2007 - Dania Bilal

2006 - Jean L. Preer

2005 - Ann Curry

2004 - Connie Van Fleet

2003 - Bryce L. Allen

2002 - Jerry D. Saye

2001 - Kay Vandergrift

2000 - Carol Tenopir and Danny Wallace

1999 - Linda C. Smith and Herman Totten

1998 - A. J. Anderson

1997 - Robert J. Grover

1996 - Joan Atkinson

1995 - Kathryn Luther Henderson

1994 - David W. Carr

1993 - Terence Crowley



 Last Updated 4/1/2014

powered by MemberClicks