ALISE / University of Washington Information School Youth Services Graduate Student Travel Award

Previous Recipients

This award supports costs associated with travel to, and participation in, the ALISE Annual Conference.

Award Criteria

  • This award is open to students currently enrolled (at the time of the ALISE conference) in an LIS graduate program (including both doctoral and master’s studies) with a concentration in youth services, broadly defined to include materials and library/information services for children and young adults in both everyday life and library settings
  • Applicants must be members of ALISE
  • Applicants must be members of the Youth Services SIG
  • Applicants must be actively participating in the ALISE conference (e.g., presenting a poster or a paper, serving as a member of a panel, interviewing for a faculty position)

Nomination Requirements

Interested graduate students should submit an application that must include:

  • A letter (no more than one page, single-spaced) describing the individual’s interest and work in the youth services area
  • Evidence of participation (or submission to participate) in the upcoming conference (e.g., poster/paper/panel acceptance/application)
  • A current CV

Committee Membership

  • Applications will be adjudicated by a panel consisting of three members of the Youth Services SIG
  • Committee members are selected and coordinated by the current year’s SIG chair(s)
  • The Committee reports to the Director for Special Interest Groups (SIGs)

Award Submission Instructions
Access the submission form here. After you create a login, click on Award Submission/Nomination at the bottom of the page. In the submission form, please be sure you enter the name(s) of the individual being nominated. List one nominee per line. If there is more than one nominee, use the Org. Index box on the right side to indicate institutional names. The number in the Org. Index box must correspond to the number below it. Prior to uploading documents, be sure to refer to your award’s requirements. 

Previous Recipients:

2017 - Sarah Barriage, Rutgers University
2016 - Cass Mabbott, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2015 - Rachel Magee, Drexel University
2014 - Natalie Greene Taylor, University of Maryland
2013 - Karla Lucht, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2012 - Robin Fogle Kurz, University of South Carolina
2011 - Lucia Cedeira Serantes, University of Western Ontario
2010 - Minjie Chen, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2009 - Eric Meyers, University of Washington